2-Pack Location Tracker Works with Apple…
Entry Pick
2-Pack Location Tracker Works with Apple…
AU $44.91
No monthly feesCoin cell 8-12 moNot GPS, BluetoothTwo tags in boxCollar case incl.Weak in the bush
Check price on Amazon
Tractive GPS Dog Tracker | 2025 Edition |…
Tractive
Tractive GPS Dog Tracker | 2025 Edition |…
AU $76.91
Escape alertsUp to 14 days2-year warrantyBark monitoringPlan required39g, big for toys
Check price on Amazon
Pawfit Lite 4G GPS Dog Tracker
Pawfit
Pawfit Lite 4G GPS Dog Tracker
AU $80.00
Under 18gSuits small dogs4G multi-networkNight walk LEDPlan requiredBattery not stated
Check price on Amazon
Life360 Pet GPS Tracker for Dogs -…
Life360
Life360 Pet GPS Tracker for Dogs -…
AU $149.99
1st year plan inclIP68 rated6-month reserveEscape alertsRenewal unpriced1-year warranty
Check price on Amazon
PitPat GPS Dog Tracker No Monthly Fees -…
Most Premium
PitPat GPS Dog Tracker No Monthly Fees -…
AU $199.00
No monthly feesLifetime SIMWireless chargingDog finder screenNetwork not statedCosts most here
Check price on Amazon

Prices from Amazon AU, updated daily. Swipe or use the arrows for more.

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links to amazon.com.au. If you buy through one of these links iFix may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change which products we recommend. We focus on what actually lasts based on 16 years of repair-shop experience.

What a GPS dog tracker actually is

A GPS dog tracker is a small phone without a screen. It has a GPS receiver to work out where it is, a SIM and a mobile modem to send that position to a server, and a little lithium battery to run both. Your phone app asks the server where the dog is, and the server answers with the last position the tracker sent. That's the part people miss: the tracker isn't talking to your phone directly, it's talking to a mobile tower.

That's why nearly all of them need a subscription. Somebody has to pay for the SIM and the data, and the maker bundles it into a monthly or yearly plan. The tracker you buy on Amazon is really the hardware half of a service, and the other half shows up on your card every month for as long as you use it. I'd treat the plan as part of the price, not an extra.

I've picked five here, from $45 to $199 at time of writing. Four are proper GPS trackers with a SIM: the Tractive GPS Dog Tracker, the Pawfit Lite, the Life360 Pet and the PitPat, which is sold with no ongoing fee. The fifth is a Bluetooth tag that uses Apple's Find My or Google's Find Hub network instead of a SIM, which I've included because it's the question I get asked most, and the honest answer needs a product beside it.

I left out the GPS fence collars that give a dog a static correction when it crosses a line, which are a different product with their own arguments, and cat trackers, which are built lighter with a much shorter battery life. I also left out tag holders sold on their own and multi-packs of key finders, since they're for keys and bags. If that's what you're after, there's a separate guide to an item tracker for keys and bags.

The plan is the real price

The Tractive dog listing says you choose between different subscription plans that cover the SIM and data, but it doesn't give a price. Tractive's own cat tracker listing on Amazon AU quotes plans from $8 a month, so I'd use that as a floor. At $8 a month, three years of tracking costs $288 on top of the tracker, which makes a $77 tracker closer to $365. Check the current plan price in the app before you order, since it's the bigger number.

Life360 takes a different line. Its listing includes a 12-month Silver subscription for new and free members, which covers up to two pets, and then it auto-renews. The listing says a subscription is required for the tracker to work at all, and it doesn't say what the renewal costs, so look that up before the first year runs out. Gold covers three to five pets and Platinum six or more, according to the listing.

Pawfit's listing says the Lite needs a subscription too, with monthly and longer-term plans in the Pawfit app, but again no price on the listing itself. The PitPat is the odd one out. Its listing says it includes a free lifetime SIM with no monthly fees, so the $199 is the whole cost for as long as the tracker works. Over two or three years, that's usually where it wins on total cost, even though it's the most expensive pick on the day.

The Bluetooth tag costs nothing to run, because it borrows the phones of strangers walking past. That's free, and it's also the catch. With no SIM, it can only report a position when somebody's Apple or Android phone comes within range, so it works well in a suburb and poorly in the bush. I'll come back to that, since it decides which kind of tracker suits your dog.

Range, coverage and the 3G switch-off

A SIM tracker's range is the mobile network's range. If there's coverage where your dog is, the position reaches your phone. If there isn't, the tracker usually stores the position and sends it when it gets signal back. The Life360 listing says it plainly: a mobile signal is required for tracking and alerts to work. On the Central Coast that's fine around town and patchy in the gullies behind the beaches, so think about where your dog actually runs.

Australia switched off its 3G networks in 2024, and older pet trackers that ran on 3G simply stopped working overnight. That's the main reason I'd look for 4G or LTE in the listing. Pawfit's listing names 4G and a multi-network SIM that works across Australia, New Zealand and Europe. Life360's lists GPS, LTE and Bluetooth. Tractive's dog listing says cellular coverage is required in 175+ countries, and PitPat's doesn't name the network type at all, so ask the seller before you buy.

The Bluetooth tag works differently. Its listing says it isn't a GPS tracker, and that it reports through Apple's Find My or Google's Find My Device network using nearby phones, accurate in populated areas, with about 60 metres of range for its own sound alarm. In a park full of people it can find a dog quickly. On a fire trail with nobody around, it may not update for hours. It also pairs with one platform at a time, not both.

GPS accuracy is the other half. Under open sky, a tracker's position is usually good to a few metres. Under thick tree cover, between tall buildings or indoors, it drifts, and some trackers fall back to mobile tower or Wi-Fi positions that can be out by a street or more. Don't panic if the dot jumps around when the dog's asleep under the house. Watch for it moving steadily in one direction, which is the real signal.

Battery life and how often it reports

Battery life on these trackers is a trade with how often they report. Tractive and Life360 both quote up to 14 days on a charge, and both listings hedge it: Tractive's says the exact time varies with coverage, usage and activity. That figure is for normal mode, reporting every so often. Switch on live tracking when the dog's missing and the tracker reports every few seconds, which can drain the battery in hours rather than days.

Life360 adds something I like, a Reserve Mode that the listing says keeps the tracker findable for up to six months after the main battery runs down. If a dog goes missing for a week and the battery dies on day three, that's the feature that still gets you a location. The PitPat listing calls its battery market-leading without a figure, and Pawfit's doesn't state battery life, so I can't compare those two on the listing alone.

The Bluetooth tag runs on a CR2032 coin cell, which its listing rates at about 8 to 12 months, and you replace it yourself. That's the big upside of a tag. There's nothing to charge, so nothing goes flat because someone forgot. The downside is the coin cell can only power a short-range radio, which is why there's no GPS inside, and you'll want to check its cover clip each time you change the battery.

Whatever you buy, set a charging habit. A tracker that's flat on the one day the gate's left open is worth nothing. Charging it on the same night every week works better than waiting for the app's low-battery warning, and keeping a spare charging lead in the car means a long weekend away doesn't leave you without one.

Waterproofing, weight and collar fit

Dogs swim, roll in puddles and shake off on the lawn, so the tracker's seal matters more than almost anything else on the spec sheet. Life360 lists IP68, which is a tested rating for dust and continuous immersion. The tag lists IP68 inside its silicone case. Tractive's, PitPat's and Pawfit's listings all say waterproof without an IP rating. Waterproof is a claim, while IP68 is a test, so I'd rather see the number. Have a read of how water gets past a seal before you trust either one in the surf.

Weight decides which dogs a tracker suits. Tractive's listing says 39 g. Pawfit's says under 18 g and pitches the Lite at smaller dogs, and the tag is about 15 g. On a labrador none of that matters. On a chihuahua or a small terrier, 39 g swinging under the chin is noticeable, and a lighter tracker is kinder. Life360's and PitPat's feature lists don't give a weight.

Fit is where trackers get lost. Most clip or strap onto an existing collar, and a clip that pops off in the scrub takes the tracker with it. Check the mount with a firm tug before each walk for the first month, and look at it again whenever the dog's been through thick bush. The PitPat listing says it fits all collars. The tag comes with a collar case. On the others, check the strap fits your dog's collar width before you order.

Fences, alerts and the app you're signing up to

The feature that does the most work isn't live tracking, it's the escape alert. Tractive, Life360 and Pawfit all let you draw a virtual fence around your yard and send a notification when the dog crosses it. That's how you find out the gate's open while the dog's still in the next street, rather than an hour later. Set it a little wider than the yard, or you'll get alerts every time the dog visits the side fence.

Each app does a few other things. Tractive's listing adds bark monitoring, activity tracking, walk recording that uploads to Strava and a map where owners report nearby risks such as baits or wildlife. Life360's adds activity reports, shared routines for feeding and walks, and its pet finder network. Pawfit's adds 24-hour location history and sharing with family or a dog walker. PitPat's leans on activity goals and its dog finder screen for homing in.

The app matters because you're tied to it. A tracker only works with its own maker's app and servers, and if the company changes its plans or closes, the hardware is a paperweight. That's not a reason to avoid them, but it is a reason to favour a maker that's been around a while and sells through Amazon AU, and to keep the receipt and the warranty details somewhere you'll find them.

Share access with everyone who might be looking. All three subscription apps support more than one person in some form, and a dog that slips out while you're at work needs whoever's home to get the alert too. Test it once on a quiet walk, so the first time you use the live map isn't the day the dog's actually gone.

Which kind suits your dog

For most families in town, a SIM tracker with a plan is the right tool, and the Tractive is the one most people are buying. It's ranked #1 in Amazon AU's Pet Activity Trackers category, and it does the escape alert and live map well. For a small dog, the Pawfit Lite is the lighter choice. If you'd like the first year's plan included and a longer findable life when the battery dies, the Life360 is worth the higher price.

If you hate subscriptions, the PitPat is the pick, as long as its network suits where you live. It costs the most on the day and nothing after, and over a few years that usually works out lower than a tracker with a plan. If your dog never leaves suburban streets and you mostly want to find it at the neighbour's, the Bluetooth tag does a surprising amount for $45, with no charging and no fees.

A tracker isn't a fence, and it isn't a microchip. Keep the dog's microchip details current with your council, keep a tag with your number on the collar, and fix the gap under the fence. A tracker tells you where the dog went, and the rest stops it going. If you'd like to watch the dog at home as well, a pet camera covers the inside of the house, and for children the same SIM idea is built into kids' GPS smartwatches.

Making a tracker last

Keep the charging contacts clean. Most of these trackers charge through small metal contacts or a clip, and a dog that's been in salt water or mud leaves residue on them. That residue corrodes the contacts, and the tracker starts charging only when the lead's held at the right angle. Wipe the contacts with a damp cloth and let them dry before charging. The PitPat's listing says it charges wirelessly, which avoids exposed contacts altogether.

Use a decent charger. These batteries are tiny, and a no-name USB plug with poor regulation can cook them over months, which shows up as a tracker that used to last two weeks and now lasts three days. Read what a poor charger does to a small battery if you're charging it from whatever plug is lying around. A swollen tracker case, or a back cover that won't sit flat, means the battery's failing and it should stop being charged.

Most trackers that come into our Erina workshop have a battery that won't hold a charge, a charging contact that's corroded, or water past a cracked seal after a chew or a knock. A worn battery is often replaceable on the bigger units, and corrosion caught early cleans up. Water that's sat inside for weeks usually doesn't, so if the tracker stops charging after a swim, dry it and get it looked at quickly.

The 5 picks, $45 to $199

Prices are Amazon AU at time of writing (2026-11-09) and move week to week. Ranks are Amazon AU category sales ranks, checked the same day. Subscription prices aren't on most listings, so check them in each maker's app before you order.

Two small round Bluetooth smart tracker tags with a silicone collar case, for Apple Find My or Google Find Hub
No plan, short range

COANTTY S10 Smart Tracker 2-Pack with Collar Case, Apple Find My and Google Find Hub

ASIN B0HH4CQ8N6 • $44.91 • Sold by COANTTY AU on Amazon AU

The COANTTY S10 Smart Tracker 2-Pack is the lowest-priced pick at $44.91 at time of writing, sold by COANTTY AU, and it's ranked #51 in Amazon AU's Pet Location Trackers category and #14,797 overall. It's two Bluetooth tags with a silicone collar case, and the listing is upfront that it isn't a GPS tracker. It reports through Apple's Find My network or Google's Find My Device network, using nearby phones. The model is S10. It's the one I'd pick for a dog that rarely leaves suburban streets, where an owner mostly wants to find it at the neighbour's or the local park without paying a monthly fee. Two tags in the pack means one for each dog, or one for the dog and one for the car keys.

The listing says it works with iPhone or Android, though not both at once, so the whole household needs to be on one platform to share it. Within about 60 metres you can make it ring at 80 to 100 dB from the app, which helps when the dog's hiding under a deck. It runs on a CR2032 coin cell that the listing rates at about 8 to 12 months and that you replace yourself, so there's nothing to charge. It's about 15 g, and the case is rated IP68, which is the best stated water rating of any pick here alongside the Life360. Family sharing works through Find My or Find Hub.

Its weakness is the bush. With no SIM, it only updates when a stranger's phone passes within range, so on a quiet fire trail it may not report for hours. It has no escape alert, no live map and no history. The listing gives a 1-year warranty. Check the case seals around the tag each time you change the coin cell. Keep the second tag on a harness or a spare collar. Don't rely on it in the bush or on a beach walk at dawn, when nobody's around to relay it. For a suburban dog and a no-fee owner, it does a lot for the money.

Honest caveats: It isn't a GPS tracker: it only reports when someone's phone passes within Bluetooth range, so it's weak in the bush. It pairs with Apple or Android, not both. There's no escape alert or live tracking. The IP68 rating applies inside its silicone case. Warranty is 1 year.

Best for: Suburban dogs and owners who want a no-fee tag that finds a dog at the neighbour's or the park.

Type: Bluetooth tag, not GPS • Network: Apple Find My or Google Find Hub (one at a time) • Ring range: About 60 m, 80 to 100 dB • Battery: CR2032, about 8 to 12 months • Water: IP68 in silicone case • Weight: About 15 g • In the box: 2 tags, collar case • Seller: COANTTY AU • Rank: #51 in Pet Location Trackers (Amazon AU)

View on Amazon AU
Tractive GPS dog tracker 2025 edition in mint green clipped to a dog collar
Best-ranked pick

Tractive GPS Dog Tracker, 2025 Edition (Mint)

ASIN B0D6Z7KPBP • $76.91 • Ships from Amazon AU

The Tractive GPS Dog Tracker, 2025 Edition, is $76.91 in mint at time of writing, sold by Amazon AU, and it's the best-ranked pick here at #1 in Amazon AU's Pet Activity Trackers category and #1,041 overall. The model is TG6C, and the brown and black listings sell at different prices, so pick the colour that's lowest on the day. It's a SIM tracker that works with a subscription covering the integrated SIM card and data. It's the one I'd pick for most families, a dog that sometimes slips out the gate, and an owner who wants the escape alert and the live map from a maker that's been at this a while.

The listing says this edition adds bark monitoring, up to 14 days of battery, a stronger light and sound, and a newer look over earlier models. Virtual fences send an alert when the dog leaves the zone, and live tracking works in 175+ countries wherever there's cellular coverage. Its app also records walks and uploads them to Strava, tracks activity and sleep, and lets owners report nearby risks such as baits or wildlife on a shared map. It weighs 39 g and the listing calls it 100% waterproof, without an IP rating. Its warranty is 2 years from the manufacturer, the longest stated here. That's a lot of tracker for the price.

The plan isn't priced on the dog listing. Tractive's cat tracker listing quotes plans from $8 a month, which would be $288 over three years on top of the tracker. At 39 g it's the heaviest pick with a stated weight, so it's better on a mid-size or big dog. Battery drops fast in live tracking mode. Keep the clip tight and check it each week. Wipe the charging contacts after a swim. Set the virtual fence a little wider than the yard so it doesn't alert every time the dog visits the side gate. For a family dog in town, it's the one to beat.

Honest caveats: A subscription is required, and the dog listing doesn't price it; Tractive's cat listing starts at $8 a month. The 14-day battery figure varies with coverage and live tracking use. It's 39 g, heavy for a small dog. Waterproof is stated without an IP rating. It needs mobile coverage to report.

Best for: Most family dogs in town, for owners who want escape alerts and a live map from a long-running maker.

Type: GPS tracker with SIM • Plan: Subscription required, price not on listing • Battery: Up to 14 days • Weight: 39 g • Water: Waterproof (no IP rating stated) • Extras: Virtual fence, bark and activity monitoring • Warranty: 2 years, manufacturer • Seller: Amazon AU • Rank: #1 in Pet Activity Trackers (Amazon AU)

View on Amazon AU
Pawfit Lite small black 4G GPS dog tracker on a small dog's collar
Lightest GPS pick

Pawfit Lite 4G GPS Dog Tracker (Onyx Black)

ASIN B0FB3RXTH4 • $80.00 • Sold by Pawfit on Amazon AU

The Pawfit Lite 4G GPS Dog Tracker is $80 at time of writing, sold by Pawfit, and it's ranked #68 in Amazon AU's Pet Location Trackers category and #22,913 overall. The colour is onyx black. The listing says it weighs under 18 g and pitches it at smaller dogs, which makes it less than half the stated weight of the Tractive. It's a 4G tracker with a built-in multi-network SIM, and the listing names Australia, New Zealand and Europe among the places it works. It's the one I'd pick for a small dog, a terrier or a toy breed, where a heavier tracker would swing under the chin and get in the way of eating.

It does the core jobs. Virtual safe zones send an escape notification when the dog leaves a set area, and live tracking runs through the Pawfit app wherever there's mobile coverage. The listing says it connects to multiple satellite systems for its position. A built-in LED light makes the dog easier to spot on an evening walk, which is handy in winter when the after-work walk is in the dark. You get 24-hour location history and exercise goals, and you can share access with family, friends or a dog walker. The listing calls it waterproof, without an IP rating. The warranty is 18 months, which sits between the Tractive's 2 years and the Life360's 1 year.

A subscription is required for the SIM and data, with monthly and longer plans in the app, but the listing doesn't price them, so check before you order. The listing doesn't state battery life either, which matters on a tracker this small. It's sold by Pawfit, a marketplace seller, rather than Amazon AU. Its rank is the lowest of the GPS picks. Wipe its contacts after a muddy walk. Check the strap fits a narrow collar, since small dogs often wear thin ones. Charge it on the same night each week until you know how long it really lasts. For a small dog, it's the sensible GPS choice.

Honest caveats: A subscription is required and isn't priced on the listing. Battery life isn't stated. Waterproof is stated without an IP rating. It's sold by Pawfit rather than Amazon AU, and its rank is the lowest of the GPS picks. It needs mobile coverage to report.

Best for: Small dogs that need a light 4G tracker with escape alerts and a light for night walks.

Type: 4G GPS tracker with multi-network SIM • Plan: Subscription required, price not on listing • Weight: Under 18 g • Coverage: Australia, NZ, Europe (mobile coverage needed) • Extras: Safe zones, LED light, 24-hour history • Water: Waterproof (no IP rating stated) • Warranty: 18 months • Seller: Pawfit • Rank: #68 in Pet Location Trackers (Amazon AU)

View on Amazon AU
Life360 Pet GPS tracker for dogs in black on a dog collar
First year's plan included

Life360 Pet GPS Tracker for Dogs TP401 (Black)

ASIN B0H6GGW9RH • $149.99 • Ships from Amazon AU

The Life360 Pet GPS Tracker for Dogs is $149.99 at time of writing, sold by Amazon AU, and it's ranked #6 in Amazon AU's Pet Location Trackers category and #1,830 overall. The model is TP401, and this listing is the black one; the navy listing is the same tracker. It includes a 12-month Life360 Silver subscription for new and free members, covering up to two pets, and then auto-renews. It's the one I'd pick for a family that already uses Life360 for each other's phones, or for an owner who'd like the first year's plan in the box and the best stated water rating of the GPS picks. It's one of the two Amazon AU-sold trackers here.

It tracks using GPS, LTE and Bluetooth, with customisable virtual boundaries around the home or garden and a notification when one's crossed. The listing quotes up to 14 days of continuous tracking on a charge, and adds a Reserve Mode that keeps it findable for up to six months after the main battery runs down. That's the feature I'd want if a dog went missing for a week. It's rated IP68. Its pet finder network draws on the wider Life360 community to help bring a lost dog home, and the app adds activity reports, zoomies alerts and shared routines for feeds and walks, with a note of who's walked the dog the most. That suits a busy house where several people take turns.

The subscription is required for the tracker to work at all, and the renewal price isn't on the listing, so look it up before the first year ends. The listing gives a 1-year warranty, shorter than Tractive's 2 years. It doesn't state a weight. A mobile signal is needed for tracking and alerts. It's about twice the Tractive's price on the day. Charge it weekly and wipe the contacts after a swim. Set a reminder a month before the free year ends so the renewal isn't a surprise. For a Life360 household, it's the easy choice.

Honest caveats: A subscription is required for it to work, and the renewal price after the included first year isn't on the listing. The warranty is 1 year. Weight isn't stated. It costs about twice the Tractive on the day. It needs a mobile signal for tracking and alerts.

Best for: Life360 households, and owners who want the first year's plan included and a six-month reserve after the battery dies.

Type: GPS, LTE and Bluetooth tracker • Plan: 12-month Silver included, then auto-renews • Battery: Up to 14 days, plus up to 6 months Reserve Mode • Water: IP68 • Pets per plan: Silver up to 2, Gold 3 to 5, Platinum 6+ • Model: TP401 • Warranty: 1 year • Seller: Amazon AU • Rank: #6 in Pet Location Trackers (Amazon AU)

View on Amazon AU
PitPat black GPS dog tracker with no monthly fees attached to a dog collar
No monthly fees

PitPat GPS Dog Tracker PP04, No Monthly Fees (Black)

ASIN B0BM4ZJLXZ • $199.00 • Sold by PitPat on Amazon AU

The PitPat GPS Dog Tracker is the most expensive pick at $199 at time of writing, sold by PitPat, and it's ranked #27 in Amazon AU's Pet Location Trackers category and #8,794 overall. The model is PP04, and the black and green listings are the same tracker at the same price. Its whole pitch is that there's no subscription: the listing says it includes a free lifetime SIM with nothing extra to pay to find your dog again and again. It's the one I'd pick for an owner who hates monthly fees and plans to keep a tracker for years, since that's when the higher price on the day starts to pay back.

The listing says it uses full satellite-based tracking rather than short-range Bluetooth or Wi-Fi, with a live location on a street map and an aerial view, and a dog finder screen that guides you to the dog even in the dark. It charges wirelessly, which I like, because there are no exposed contacts to corrode after a swim. The listing calls it 100% waterproof, without an IP rating, and says it fits all collars. Its app tracks exercise and rest against goals for your dog, and gives feeding recommendations. Against the Tractive at $8 a month, it's lower over three years, and it stays that way for as long as the PitPat keeps working.

The listing doesn't name the mobile network or say whether it's 4G, and since 3G closed in Australia in 2024, I'd ask the seller before buying. Battery life is called market-leading without a figure. There's no escape alert or virtual fence mentioned in its features. It's sold by PitPat rather than Amazon AU, and no warranty is stated. Test the live map on a walk first, in the places your dog actually runs, so you know what coverage looks like before you need it. Check the collar fit each week. Keep the receipt with the box in case the network question comes up later. For a long-term, no-fee tracker, it's the pick.

Honest caveats: It costs the most on the day. The listing doesn't name its mobile network type, and no virtual fence or escape alert is listed. Battery life and warranty aren't stated. Waterproof is stated without an IP rating. It's sold by PitPat rather than Amazon AU.

Best for: Owners who hate subscriptions and will keep a tracker for years, where the no-fee SIM pays back the higher price.

Type: GPS tracker with lifetime SIM • Plan: No monthly fees (listing) • Network: Not stated on the listing • Charging: Wireless • Water: Waterproof (no IP rating stated) • Extras: Dog finder, activity goals • Model: PP04 • Seller: PitPat • Rank: #27 in Pet Location Trackers (Amazon AU)

View on Amazon AU

Side-by-side comparison

ProductPriceBest for
2-Pack Location Tracker Works with Apple…~$45
Tractive GPS Dog Tracker | 2025 Edition |…~$77
Pawfit Lite 4G GPS Dog Tracker~$80
Life360 Pet GPS Tracker for Dogs -…~$150
PitPat GPS Dog Tracker No Monthly Fees -…~$199

What we see fail in the workshop: GPS dog trackers

A GPS tracker on a dog lives a harder life than a phone. It gets dunked, chewed, knocked on gates and charged by whoever's nearest the plug. The faults are mostly the same few, and most of them start small. Here's what usually goes wrong, and what you can check yourself before you give up on one and buy another.

Won't charge, or charges at an angle

This is the most common one. Salt, mud and saliva leave a film on the charging contacts, and over a few months it corrodes them, so the tracker only charges when the lead's held just right. A damp cloth and a dry toothbrush on the contacts, then a full dry before charging, fixes a lot of them. If the contacts are green or pitted, the corrosion has gone further. Bent or weak pins on a charging clip do the same thing, so check the clip as well as the tracker.

Battery that used to last two weeks

Lithium batteries wear with charge cycles and heat, and a tracker left on a hot dashboard or charged on a poor plug wears faster. The sign is a tracker that drains in days instead of weeks, even in normal mode. Check the app first, since live tracking left on by mistake does the same thing. If the case is bulging or the back won't sit flat, the battery is swelling: stop charging it and get it looked at, because a swollen cell shouldn't be pushed any further. On the bigger trackers a worn battery is often replaceable.

Water inside after a swim or a chew

A tracker sealed well enough for rain can still let water in once its case is cracked by teeth or a knock on a gate. The sign is fogging under a light, a tracker that resets itself, or one that stops charging after a swim. Dry it out straight away, don't charge it while it's wet, and bring it in sooner rather than later. Water left inside for weeks corrodes the board, and that's usually where a repair stops making sense against a new tracker. A quick dry and a check is worth it.

Decision tree: which one should you actually buy?

  • Suburban dog, and you'd rather not pay a monthly fee? → The COANTTY S10 2-pack at $44.91, a Find My or Find Hub tag with a coin cell that lasts about 8 to 12 months.
  • Family dog that sometimes slips out the gate? → The Tractive GPS Dog Tracker at $76.91, ranked #1 in Pet Activity Trackers, with escape alerts and a 2-year warranty.
  • Small dog, where weight matters? → The Pawfit Lite 4G at $80, under 18 g, with safe zones and an LED light for night walks.
  • Already use Life360, or want the first year's plan included? → The Life360 Pet at $149.99, with 12 months of Silver included, IP68 and a six-month Reserve Mode.
  • Hate subscriptions and plan to keep it for years? → The PitPat at $199, with a free lifetime SIM and wireless charging. Ask the seller which network it uses first.
  • Tracker won't charge, drains fast or got wet? → It's usually corroded contacts, a worn battery or water past a cracked seal. Bring it into our Erina workshop and we'll tell you what's wrong and whether it's worth fixing before you spend anything.

Frequently asked questions

Do GPS dog trackers need a subscription?

Most do, because the tracker has a SIM and someone has to pay for its data. Tractive, Life360 and Pawfit all require a plan, and Life360 includes the first 12 months for new and free members. The listings mostly don't print the price, though Tractive's cat tracker listing quotes plans from $8 a month. The PitPat is sold with a free lifetime SIM and no monthly fees. Bluetooth tags like the COANTTY S10 have no plan, because they report through other people's phones.

Is a GPS tracker or an AirTag-style tag better for a dog?

It depends on where the dog gets lost. A GPS tracker with a SIM reports its position over the mobile network wherever there's coverage, and gives you escape alerts and a live map. A Bluetooth tag only updates when someone's phone passes within range, so it works well in suburbs and poorly in the bush. The tag costs nothing to run and its coin cell lasts months, while a GPS tracker needs charging and a plan.

How long does a GPS dog tracker battery last?

Tractive and Life360 both quote up to 14 days on a charge in normal mode, and Tractive's listing says the real figure varies with coverage and use. Live tracking, where the tracker reports every few seconds, can drain one in hours. Life360 adds a Reserve Mode that keeps it findable for up to six months after the main battery runs out. Pawfit and PitPat don't give a battery figure on their listings.

Do GPS dog trackers work without mobile coverage?

Not live. A SIM tracker gets its position from satellites, but it needs a mobile signal to send that position to the server and on to your phone. With no coverage, most store the position and send it when they get signal back. Life360's listing says a mobile signal is required for tracking and alerts. Since Australia's 3G networks closed in 2024, look for 4G or LTE in the listing, and check coverage where your dog actually runs.

Are GPS dog trackers waterproof?

Most say so, but only some give a tested rating. The Life360 Pet is rated IP68, and the COANTTY tag is IP68 inside its silicone case. Tractive, PitPat and Pawfit say waterproof without an IP number. A seal that's fine new can fail after the case is chewed or cracked, so check the case after rough play, dry the tracker after a swim and never charge it while it's wet.

What's the lightest GPS tracker for a small dog?

Of the GPS picks, the Pawfit Lite 4G is the lightest stated, at under 18 g, and its listing pitches it at smaller dogs. The Tractive is 39 g, which is fine on a mid-size or large dog but noticeable on a toy breed. The COANTTY Bluetooth tag is about 15 g, though it isn't a GPS tracker. Life360 and PitPat don't state a weight in their features, so check the product page before ordering for a small dog.

Related buying guides

Dog tracker won't charge or died after a swim?

Most dog tracker faults we see come down to corroded charging contacts, a worn lithium battery or water past a cracked seal after a chew or a knock. Bring it into our Erina workshop and we'll check what's actually wrong and tell you whether it's worth fixing before you spend anything on a new one.

Visit our Erina workshop Book Online